CNN island farewell gathering


On Wednesday afternoon I heard the news that CNN island in Second Life will be closed down by the end of month/year. CNN entered Second Life back in November 2007, where the first in-world training session took place on 13th November at the I-Report Hub. Since then there have been a number of great i-report stories about Second Life over the years and weekly inworld meetings. Will you miss CNN island in Second Life ? 

More snapshots of the CNN farewell party can be found on my Flickr stream.

On Thursday afternoon I went to the CNN inworld farewell party where many of my friends and CNN I-Reporters gathered to discuss various topics for a while which was really good. I arrived about 15 minutes before 2pm SLT and then more folks started started to arrive.

Around 2:50pm SLT there was live music from the DJ (Grace McDunnough) for the farewell party at the dance floor area. More than 20 avatars attended the CNN farewell party which was great fun. There was a special fireworks display at the end around 3:30pm SLT to dance the night away.

CNN I-Reporters

The CNN inworld groups may still be intact when the CNN island shuts down but there’s no guarantee on that, says Nicole Ireport. Nicole mentions more information…

  • [14:36] Nicole Ireport: e-mail me at nicole.saidi@turner.com if you have questions
  • [14:36] Nicole Ireport: just want to let you know that we do care about y’all and we hope you will stay on board with us
  • [14:37] Janey Bracken: We’d like to thank Henry and Nicole for teaching us so much and taking an interest in SL
  • [15:57] Nicole Ireport: iReport works well in the case of Second Life

Farewell & Goodbye CNN SL!

6 thoughts on “CNN island farewell gathering

    1. I really enjoyed the gathering this afternoon, dance party and the nice fireworks at the CNN island.

      Thanks for bringing CNN into Second Life for many years. I have enjoyed reading the amazing sl reports over the years. All the best for the future!

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.